EMIP 2019


The 6th International Workshop on Eye Movements in Programming will be held on Monday, May 27, 2019 in Montreal, Quebec, Canada. It is co-located with ICSE 2019.

The study of eye gaze data has great potential for research in computer programming, computing education, and software engineering practice. The Sixth International Workshop on Eye Movements in Programming (EMIP 2019) will focus on advancing the methodological, theoretical, and applied aspects of eye movements in programming. The goal of the workshop is to advance the methodology of using eye gaze tracking for programming, both theoretically and in applications. What can gaze behavior tell us about cognitive processes during programming? How can eye tracking help us to understand the role of human factors in software engineering?
The workshop is open to all ICSE attendees who are interested in eye tracking and its related data, platforms, analyses, and applications. We welcome research and industry participants, especially those who have opportunities to put eye tracking applications into practice. We include demo sessions to provide hands-on experiences for those unfamiliar with the practical use of eye trackers.


Paper Deadline: February 1, 2019

More details on submitting a paper are in the call for papers.


Program Committee

  • Roman Bednarik, University of Eastern Finland
  • Tanya Beelders, University of the Free State
  • Maria Bielikova, Slovak University of Technology in Bratislava
  • Teresa Busjahn, Freie Universität Berlin
  • Martha Crosby, University of Hawaii
  • Sarah D’Angelo, Google
  • Fabian Deitelhoff, Fachhochschule Dortmund
  • Fabian Fagerholm, University of Helsinki
  • Dror Feitselson, Hebrew University
  • Yann-Gaël Guéhéneuc, École Polytechnique de Montréal
  • Hideaki Hata, Nara Institute of Science and Technology
  • Katja Kevic, Microsoft
  • Martin Konôpka, Slovak University of Technology in Bratislava
  • Unaizah Obaidellah, University of Malaya
  • Steve Oney, University of Michigan
  • Christopher Parnin, North Carolina State University
  • James Paterson, Glasgow Caledonian University
  • Norman Peitek, Leibniz Institute for Neurobiology, Magdeburg
  • Bonita Sharif, University of Nebraska, Lincoln
  • Andreas Stefik, University of Nevada, Las Vegas
  • Jozef Tvarozek, Slovak University of Technology in Bratislava
  • Hana Vrzáková, University of Colorado, Boulder